Pooping Trauma!

Lately pooping has been such a traumatic experience for Evan. He’s developed this severe FEAR of going #2. He knows he should be going on the potty, but he is terrified of it!! When he does finally go, in his pull up, he is all out crying and is so upset that he didn’t go in the potty. He gets sooo embarrassed. I’m just totally stumped about what I can do to help him overcome this fear.

I know right now he is learning/understanding fears, because he makes comments that show us this. When he climbs the stairs, he says, “I don’t want to fall!”, when he climbs up on something, he says, “I be careful Mommy!” When he was eating a piece of candy this weekend, he said, “I don’t want to choke.” So I totally get that this is just a learning/realization phase, but how do I get him to even be open to the idea of going #2 on the potty?

Right now when he has to go, he’ll tell us he needs to go potty but when you put him on the toilet seat, he leaps off it like it’s on fire crying “No, Mommy, No, I don’t want to!” It’s so heartbreaking!

I’ve been giving him prune juice, lots of high fiber fruits and vegetables, and even gummy fiber supplements to keep his movements soft, but that doesn’t seem to ease his anxiety. I just ordered a book for him from Amazon called “It Hurts When I Poop!: A Story for Children Who Are Scared to Use the Potty” by Bennett Howard, M.D. I’m really hoping that this book will help him.

Does anyone else have any suggestions on what may work?

This entry was posted in Evan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pooping Trauma!

  1. Erin says:

    Rachael does the same thing! She will only poop tiny amounts at a time. She tries to hold it in which results in a lot of poopy panties. Then it finally gets to the point where she can’t hold it any more and it comes out and it’s huge. Which is not helping the fear any.

    I don’t get it, she was fine when she was first potty trained. I don’t know what started it. I don’t know what to do because it’s 100% mental. Good luck!

  2. Sam says:

    I wish I had some better advice.. but I will say that it should pass in time. My nephew Benjamin had a serious problem with pooping on the potty- he just didn’t want to do it for a long time. It seemed to be all mental and we never really quite understood why he wouldn’t go, but eventually he got over it. Hang in there and just be patient with him.

Leave a Reply

