An Update

A lot has happened over the last several weeks:

*Our daycare provider informed us that she won’t be going group in order to have room for my daughter in July when I returned to work from maternity leave. This was extremely disappointing as we have been so happy with the care she has given Evan and we really didn’t want to have to change our care situation. So now we are on the hunt for a new provider. This is definitely a stress I did not need right now!

*Today, after 3 years of trying to re-home and re-train my dog, we had to make the tough decision to put him to sleep. Beau was a very sweet 10 year old English Springer Spaniel, but unfortunately he was abused by his original owners and that led to him having an aggressive streak. He was one of those dogs who only liked his family and not strangers at all. In the past he has nipped/bitten and gotten aggressive with people he encountered other than our immediate family. When we brought Evan home we decided to keep them separate to avoid any risk of injury. So, now that Evan is almost 3, can open doors more easily and is about to be a big brother, it became nearly impossible to keep them apart.

Adding to our decision was the fact that Beau had recently developed cataracts, had lost some of his sense of smell/vision, pulled a muscle in his back and possibly had canine diabetes. He was constantly thirsty, hungry and lethargic. He also seemed to gain weight despite being on a restrictive, controlled diet. That was confirmed in our minds today when we found out that he had gained almost 20 lbs over the past 3 years!

Today was extremely difficult. Beau was so excited to go for a ride and whimpered with excitement the whole drive over to the vets. It was such a bittersweet sound to hear. When the time came, Paul and I held Beau’s head and pet him and told him how much we loved him. Within seconds he went to sleep peacefully and he was gone. I hope I never have to make such a tough decision again!

*Today was also my 28 week checkup. Everything’s looking good so far. I’ve gained 16 lbs so far this pregnancy but I feel pretty good…not huge yet. Liana’s heart rate was 142 and she was moving around quite a bit making the midwife work for the reading! She told me that the baby is feet down right now but she still have time to flip around, not that it really matters since we’ll be having another C-section this time around. She checked my measurement (fundal height) and everything is right on schedule. I got my Rhogam shot for being Rh negative and the doctor is going to schedule my C-section for 39 weeks – if I make it that far!!! lol

I go back in for a growth ultrasound in 2 weeks and another check-up right after. Then I’ll begin going to my appointments every week and hopefully this time we’ll be able to better predict when Miss Liana will run out of room to grow and want to come out to meet us!

Sooo…over the next 7 or 8 weeks, I have much to do to prepare for this baby! It seems like time just flies by so quickly! I hope I can get it all done!

This entry was posted in Baby, Evan, Family, Jenna, Paul, Pregnancy, Sickness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Update

  1. carol says:

    Jenna, love your blog it proves to me life holds many ups and downs but we still get through it all parenthood , marriage, relationships. children (in my case grandchildren I dearly love) and some sadness mixed in… your very eloquent and I enjoy knowing and loving you immensely love Carol and Dad

  2. Ruth says:

    So sorry to hear about Beau 😦 I can’t imagine how hard that must have been…as I just sit here reading about it wiping my own tears away!

    Glad to hear that Liana is golden and I can’t wait to see pics of her beautiful face!!

Leave a Reply

