Dogs really do live in the moment

So life in our house with one dog is definitely different. It’s quieter since Beau was our more vocal dog. He was always the one to tell us when they needed to go out, eat or wanted attention. Cierra just pretty much let him take the lead on that one. It’s been a pretty tough first week without our beautiful boy. I still cry at least once a day for missing him and feeling regret over having to let him go. But, then I just try to remind myself that it was a decision that had to be made for the health and wellness of our family and I try to forgive myself.

The first day without Beau, Cierra seemed to notice he was missing. She kept searching for him. However, each subsequent day she has acted like nothing happened at all. I’m not sure if it’s because she’s getting more attention or because dogs really do live in the moment, but she doesn’t seem to be grieving the loss of her friend like we humans do.

As for me, I know it will take a lot longer than that for me to stop missing this sweet little brown and white face:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And I KNOW this summer, when I am finally able to go swimming in our inground pool, I’ll be missing my swim partner for sure. Cierra just DOES NOT LIKE the water. She can’t swim for the life of her, but my Beau was a little fish in water.

This entry was posted in Dogs, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dogs really do live in the moment

  1. harpersfarm says:

    I am so sorry for the loss of your Beau. He was a beautiful dog. It is extermely tough to put a pet to sleep, even if you know it is for the best.

  2. carol says:

    love the pics of Beau what a beautiful dog…

  3. Nicole says:

    I’m so sorry Jenna :(.

Leave a Reply

