My trip to Labor and Delivery

Friday night Evan and I went to dinner with my parents like we usually do.  We met them over at the Ironwood Golf Course and I had some delicious Prime Rib dinner.  After we got back to my parents house, around 8:30 pm, I settled in to the recliner to watch some hockey. About an hour later I started to feel some contractions.  I timed them for about 30 minutes and they were coming every 5 minutes for about a minute each.  I called my OB’s office and they told me to head into L&D triage for evaluation.

I called Paul at work around 10 pm, which is luckily only 10 minutes from my parents house, and he was there in no time.  My parents were able to keep Evan overnight, so off we went.  We stopped by our house for about 10 minutes to grab my bag and take care of the dog before heading to the hospital.

When we arrived they got me hooked up to some monitors and confirmed that I was definitely having contractions.  They told me I was a bit dehydrated and that was likely what was causing the contractions.  They hooked me up to a quick IV and the doctor came in to check for dilation – nothing.  They monitored me between 11 pm and 4 am while giving me fluids and although the contractions weren’t slowing down any, they weren’t progressing my cervix at all, so they decided to give me a shot to stop the contractions.  That was around 4:30 am.  This stuff was NOT pleasant, made me very shaky and ill feeling, but eventually did stop the contractions.  I was discharged at 6 am to go home and rest.

Luckily, my parents were able to keep Evan for the weekend so I could get as much rest as possible.  They had an absolute BLAST with him and were a bit sad that the weekend came to an end.  Although, they did look a bit worn out from all his energy when they brought him home tonight.

So today is officially 36 weeks and now that the contractions have stopped, Liana seems pretty comfortable in there.  I have a checkup tomorrow morning at 11 am, so we’ll see what my doctor thinks we should do at this point.  My scheduled C-section isn’t until May 10th, but in theory I could start labor or have my water break any day now.

Here are some cute pictures of Evan from this week:

This entry was posted in Baby, Evan, Family, Jenna, Paul, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

