Sick, Sick, McSicky

I just can’t seem to get healthy!  I started getting sick Sunday, April 3rd and have yet to get better since!  First it seemed like just a bad chest cold, but then it turned into some nasty bronchitis.  So I went to the doctor and got on some antibiotics for 5 days.  That seemed to be working and I was feeling a little bit better – i.e., could breathe w/o feeling like it was through a wet sponge!  A few days after the antibiotic was gone though, the head cold seemed to get worse.  Not sure if I picked up something new or it was just the same virus hanging around, but it’s been yucky.  Now, for the past 2 days my left ear has been plugged up and today it began hurting.  So back to the doctor I shall go today.

This is making the end of this pregnancy ABSOLUTELY miserable!!  I’m officially 36 weeks, 4 days today and Liana seems pretty comfy and content in there.  She doesn’t seem to be in the hurry her big brother was (delivered at 35 weeks, 1 day).  I’m truly hoping that I can beat this cold/ear infection/remaining bronchitis, before my daughter decides to make her entry into the outside world.

Things I miss while being sick:

1 – being able to smell!  Paul made maple sausage links, waffles (frozen) and scrambled eggs for breakfast yesterday morning and I couldn’t smell ANY of its wonderfulness – which also means I could barely taste it too!

2 – sleep!  Between the pregnancy (being huge and uncomfortable) and the sinuses/ear pain, I don’t seem to get to sleep for more than an hour at a time, sometimes less.  I swear I was waking up in 20 min intervals last night.  This makes for a very crabby Momma!

3 – visiting with friends!  Now that I’m out of work (on disability and then Mat leave), I was hoping to catch up with some of my neighbors and friends who are SAHMs before little Liana arrives.  However, it’s not playing out that way.  *Sigh*

Things I’m grateful for:

1 – Overall, Evan seems to be missing out on the worst of the sickies in our house.  He had his own share of ear infections before Paul and I got sick but so far he’s only caught a mild cold.

2 – Not having to go to work when I’m so sick!  It was getting so difficult to go in every day when I have been feeling so miserable.  It’s nice to sleep in (a little) or be able to wake up in the middle of the night and not worry that I’ll be struggling at work.

3 – I’m so grateful that Liana is getting this extra time to grow inside of me – especially while I’m sick!  I know it will only benefit her, despite my impatience, and it would be nice if I’m not sick when she gets here so I can smell her beautiful newborn scent and not worry about making her sick too!

If you made it this far through this rant of a post, I thank you!  Please say a little prayer for me to get healthy and for little Liana to come on her own time schedule and be absolutely healthy.

19 days till my scheduled C-section – May 10th!  How close will we come to that date???

This entry was posted in Baby, Evan, Family, Jenna, Pregnancy, Sickness. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sick, Sick, McSicky

  1. PeacockWings says:

    aww I really hope you start feeling better soon! Only 19 more days!!!!!!

  2. Hope you get healthy soon, Jenna!

    Glad Liana seems comfortable in there.. 🙂

  3. Kathy Z says:

    I hope you feel better soon and sounds like you are staying positive. Can’t wait to meet her.

  4. Amanda says:

    I hope you feel better soon. now is your time to rest

  5. Nicole says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

