Liana Elizabeth has arrived!

After being released from the hospital Monday morning (May 9th) with contractions, Paul and I headed to Denny’s for a hearty breakfast.  I continued to have contractions about 10 minutes apart all day with considerable intensity.  We used this extra time to work on last minute preparations around the house.  Evan was already at his grandmother’s house from the night before’s trip to L&D, so we were just trying to relax to get ready for the scheduled c-section the next morning at 7:30 am.

At 9 pm, I decided to make a scrambled egg omelet for my last meal before the midnight cut off.  Just before 10 pm, as I was enjoying my eggs, Miss Liana decided that she didn’t want to wait till the next morning to make her entrance.  My water broke in a HUGE gush so it was off to the hospital again we went.

After my water broke, my contractions intensified even more and began coming about 2 minutes apart.  When we got to the hospital, they hooked me up to them monitors to see how baby was handling the labor.  At one point, her heart rate went from 171 beats per minute down to 63 beats per minute during a contraction.  When the doctor saw this it was immediately determined that Liana was in fetal distress and we needed to get her out AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.  So with a lot of hustle and bustle, they prepped me for an emergency c-section.  We didn’t have time to call anyone to let them know that this was happening this quickly.

They wheeled me into the OR at midnight and Liana Elizabeth was delivered at 12:24 am on May 10, 2011.  She surprised us all by weighing in at a whopping 8 lbs, 12.5 oz and a length of 21 inches!  It was a little scary for the first few minutes as they cleaned her up and tried to clear her lungs, which had some fluid in them.  I got to see her for just a few seconds before she was taken to the nursery for intensive care monitoring.  Within the first hour, the neonatal nurse came in to let us know that Liana was doing very well, but they wanted to keep her in the nursery for a few more hours for observation.  So, it was a very long night waiting to hold my baby girl.

Finally, at 9 am the next morning I was able to hold my daughter and it was instant love.  Here she is:

This entry was posted in Baby, Jenna, Liana, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

